Poets logo

Not Who I am!

Believe my heart, not what you see!

By Roderick AllenPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

Not who I am

Media portrays me as a savage on the loose

Maybe it’s my fault—I fiend for the juice

Because of these quick dollars-I sell dreams

Destroying the hopes of those who worship my triple-beam

Started small time then moved to harder blow

Counting millions of nickels as you drown in snow

I never answer when the question of caring is asked

I do, but my tears are hidden behind my cold, facial mask

That cold mask, takes me to a space

To avoid the pain I caused in this place

Because of my choices-I can’t sleep for days

I’m society’s nightmare-an educated black man

But I chased a fast life-so I’m society’s black man

Media’s definition of how to be a zero

Fox news channel new hero-The Unproductive Negro

Giving them images of negativity and stereotypes

I have to change-I don’t want to be a part of that hype

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.