Poets logo

Not So Basic Love Poem

<3

By Emily McGrathPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like
Walk in the park all day to be around each other type of love.

Guarded with emotional walls, not wanting to let in another

After suffering what I had been through, why bother

After the abusive relationship, all you can think about is the pain

Dating would all be the same, what could there be to gain?

We started out as just friends, because we were there for each other

We became close, almost like he was my brother

I could feel the pull of our relationship become romantic

The whirlwind of our love has left me at times quite frantic

I never expected us to get to this place, but now I look over and next to me he lays

He claims he is an earth angel, so for him I may have prayed, someone who won't just view me as prey

I have been touched by his vibrant energy and has felt it through the electricity

This electricity may have been through my mind, but I admit, to me it did blind

He comes from a city of angels, I rub my hands through his hair to softly untangle

I hear a love song and I can start to cry, because I know how deeply he has touched my life

When I fall hard he is there to catch, piece by piece of a broken heart he can patch

I am in love with all my heart, from him I don't think I can part

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Emily McGrath

Almost raw vegan, at least for the summer... love books, jogging, yoga and of course, long romantic walks on the beach! I hope you enjoy what I write, I love doing it!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.