Poets logo

Not Letting You Sweep Me

Glass Houses and Glass Beds

By Yess BrycePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Not Letting You Sweep Me
Photo by Neal E. Johnson on Unsplash

You're a delightful human this I can tell

You're the type to sweep a girl

Right off her feet

There is clearly a fire in you

One that draws me nearer

Yet I hope to listen to the winds this time

When they whisper to me

Patience dear one

I hope to hear them

Slow down wild one

This is something I can get swept up in

I do not have my ruby shoes

I don't know where I would land

I am not the one to break glass houses

Not with stones

Or sleeping

in glass beds

The attraction to you is magnetic

Not something to ignore

But when you let the magnets crash together

They may very well break

Let me walk beside you

As you navigate your stepping stones

And I shall navigate mine

Our creeks run side by side

The water never stops

It always finds a way

So if the current says it is

Then it is most certainly

What we should be doing

Slow down soldier

The war is not yet over

The storm has just begun

Do not fret

You are in good hands

The universe is a tricky woman

But she has us

She has us where she wants us

So go slow and see what happens

When two magnets can

Easily connect.

By israel palacio on Unsplash

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Yess Bryce

Currently halfway through my Creative Writing degree with Oregon State University, in an attempt to leave the cooking and farming world of work. Newly hired as a Contributor to Edible Magazine! It's working!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.