Poets logo

Not in My Life Time

2017 Series

By P.J MimoPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

As I remember the doctors

discussing before my eyes

my ears were open wide within the mind of a little boy in disguise

I was chasing my dreams through the fields

hitting my first at-bat, saving the next shot

I was my own idol in a world that I thought...

Not in my lifetime

I would say to myself at night

I`d dream away to make my movies

to live another life more bright

not in my lifetime, I would say falling asleep at night

Fast & furious my heart years would go on

smoking on last cigarettes see these women with song

hold me down to make my night

with beer down only dirty ones in sight

The hospital called

they want me to live

quit the hard stuff

so that`s what I did

Make me proud within these fights

my past demons were coming out that night

Shaking like a leaf..out of breath as well

am I dying right here or is this life challenging me down to hell

Battle the dark day in day out

I`ll beat this for my little guy without a doubt

Meanwhile...love her as much as you can

let her lead you to the promise land

What beautiful mind & body right beside me

my sweetie, she believes in me

Not in my lifetime, I would say

I`d dream away to make my movies

not knowing that one day

my battles would be real and all I know

always fight the BIG Fight

cause my life is my movies...and this is the only thing, I know

Copy@Right September 2017

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

P.J Mimo

Canadian Poet & Writer born in Montreal, Quebec

Started writing poetry in 1996 after a failed relationship with a young woman.

Follow me on Facebook @P.JMimoOfficial

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.