Poets logo

Nostalgia

As I move on

By Darin LeighPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like
Photo by Benjamin Davies @bendavisual on Unsplash

I perch on a rock,

Mown grass beneath my feet,

Hunched over from cold though

The sun beats down on my face.

I feel a calm warmth

As I bake like a lizard

And wait for the sound of

Your voice on the wind.

Something slithers by

And squirrels hop about

While I wonder just how much it will hurt

To miss it here.

You skip up behind me

And hug my shoulders close

With warmth in your arms

And a smile that lets me know

It will all be okay.

Thank you for reading! Please support by sharing, reading more, and tipping if you can.

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

Darin Leigh

Just the ramblings of an artist in her 20s. I write a lot of unplanned poetry. I hope you enjoy

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.