Poets logo

Nocturne

I hear the voice from my hell...

By RJ DerbyPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

Evening spreads its wings

Across setting sun’s delight

As a stalking spirit brings

Passing glows in the night

Come, the marching band

Hauntingly this way

Visions of death by hand

Hearts lost in lies of grey

Here I call deceitful names

Thumping tremors in my soul

I do believe it tames

A time I shall never know

Tremors of my beating heart

I shall live the nights alone

Recreating sounds of Mozart

The dream, the want, the broken stone

So may come the day

I shall rest my weary head

Lay down and become prey

To the setting sun’s dread

Do I dare still dream

Of such a treat that makes

The spreading of wildflowers seem

Less than a miracle, a fake

Do I dare disturb the course

Disturb the faith of souls

Do I dare for the minute force

Belief seen through keyholes

Amusement chills my heart

Where I stay with dark demons

In my reflection, I do depart

Soft touches from these virgins

And in the season of my death

When the days of dark join me

May I taste her final breath

Across the skies in eternity

Shall I depart once and for all

Leave my ramblings of the past

I advance through the halls

Valley of shadows now trespassed

I look upon the world I dwell

I have lingered so it seems

I hear the voices from my hell

Arousing me from this dream

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

RJ Derby

I was drawn to the written word by literacy influences such as Stephen King, H.P. Lovecraft, Clive Barker, Ray Bradbury, Neil Gaiman, Peter Straub, Edgar Allen Poe, and Bram Stoker.

I live in WA, Australia

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.