Poets logo

No Such Thing as Home

Caille Rose

By Caillete RosePublished 3 years ago Updated 5 months ago 1 min read
2

I used to think home was a hidden place,

One I tried to find.

Along my search, I found someone,

They taught me instead that home was a face and an embrace.

My mistake?

I believed that.

On them, my love went to waste.

However,

From that a lesson I learned.

Home is not a hidden place.

Home is not an embrace or a face.

Home is a place we create.

What we’ve grown to call home,

Its definitions,

Four walls, a roof?

Or in my case?

An embrace,

Our lover’s face?

All these definitions we accept,

To help us cope with this world,

But what if instead, we chose our own definitions?

Rejected the traditional interpretations?

Home can be of our own creation.

It is a challenge. It takes dedication and ambition.

It was a challenge I accepted.

No longer lost, I have found my home.

My home is in a lab.

My home is my art studio,

My home is on a keyboard with just the right click,

My home is a sunbaked field, a twilight forest.

So long as those outdated definitions inhabited my mind,

Parasitic tourists,

They left my soul malnourished.

At the beginning of their absence,

My beliefs were shaken,

My definition of home was taken.

I began to wander,

I was a nomad,

I was lost.

Until I realized, actually…

I was never lost

I was set free.

inspirational
2

About the Creator

Caillete Rose

Writing fueled by the creative alchemy of caffeine, DID/PTSD, Sleep Deprivation, and Trauma.

Life's a complicated, beautiful nightmare. Why not write about it?

If you like the art in my banner, check out my art page @cailletecreativesart

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.