Poets logo

No Escape

Lives end but memories are forever

By Daniel Oconnor Published 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

- [ ] never once thought

- [ ] Though many times dreamed

- [ ] To be not of this world

- [ ] To be hidden between

- [ ] To be not quite here

- [ ] Not noticed in there

- [ ] To not feel the fear

- [ ] To not breathe the air

- [ ] To have hands not yet full

- [ ] But grasping instead

- [ ] Not feeling the pull

- [ ] Not knowing anguish, despair

- [ ] To be numb yet alive

- [ ] To not feel pain or be scared

- [ ] As I struggle to survive

- [ ] And wonder if anyone cared

- [ ] I could let it all go

- [ ] Let my fingers spread wide

- [ ] No more worries no no

- [ ] For they all would have died

- [ ] Leave all thoughts far behind

- [ ] In a cemetery for my memories

- [ ] Let my legs stretch and unwind

- [ ] Run don’t stop not for centuries

- [ ] I will die this day or that one

- [ ] I’ll close my eyes to never open them

- [ ] But I’ll remember all I’ve done

- [ ] And the next life they’ll condemn again

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Daniel Oconnor

My passion is words, when I write it usually takes no more than half an hour to bring to life what I’m thinking... if I leave it inside my head i obsess over the thoughts and they transform into something I can’t express...

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.