Poets logo

No Doubt

June 2020

By N. ThomasPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
1
No Doubt
Photo by Gaelle Marcel on Unsplash

Some men are so quick to deceive

and the sweet things they say are so different from what they do

I already know that I don't ever have to worry

about having those issues with you

The questioning and uncertainty can eat away

at a woman's sanity like parasites

The crying and waiting and watching the phone

all those sleepless nights

The torture of not knowing

and picturing someone else with their man

I should consider myself lucky

that I always know where I stand

Make room for the insecurity to creep in

and whisper things so vile

Never let me mistake what we have between us

for anything worthwhile

Go out of your way to let me know that

I'll never end up with more than the sting of rejection

You're careful not to respond

with anything that could be considered genuine affection

Sometimes the insecurity stops whispering

and instead it starts to shout

But it's always a statement, never a question,

because you leave no room for doubt

Make sure to push me out of the way

and put me in my place

Never let me forget that I'm just here

to fill the empty space

Go out of your way to let me know that

when I think this could be love, I'm wrong

You're careful to give me just enough

to keep stringing me along

Sometimes I'm sure there's a connection

and this is what happiness feels like when we hang out

But there will never be a happily ever after for us

you leave no room for doubt

Make a point of reminding me that

when I thought it could be something special, it wasn't

Never make me question if it matters to you

because I know it doesn't

Go out of your way to let me know I'm not the one

an you'd be just as well off without me

You're careful not to give off the impression

that you actually care at all about me

Sometimes I let my mind wander to a fantasy

where I'm your woman, loving and devout

But I know that in reality you'll never be mine

you leave no room for doubt

Sometimes women waste so much time doing detective work

and energy to win and keep him, but I don't have to sweat it

I already know you're looking elsewhere, and I don't have to try

to earn your love because I know I'll never get it

The wondering and getting hopes up just to be let down

can chip away at a woman's heart piece-by-piece

The fleeting thought that this time might be different

drowned out by the critical voices that never cease

The looking in the mirror hoping this time she'll be enough

to keep him from stepping out

So I guess I should just be thankful

that you never leave any room for doubt

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

N. Thomas

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.