Poets logo

No box for baby

A diary of toxic love tales

By Leeann Free FormPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Photo by Baron Brooks

Little burned box held closed with duct tape

I sold myself as small, so, it’s only fitting that’s where you stored me

And upon opening this box, after a good nights sleep, you were stunned by a war

Out I came, swinging and roaring

You didn’t stand a chance

I wouldn’t go back in, and I would not leave.

Nor would you let me.

I frightened you, but you found it exhilarating.

So began our favorite game

I pretend to leave, you pull me back

I raise hell, you run away

I drag you back, you point at the box

I offer the bed.

We compromise.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Leeann Free Form

I like the simple words and the spaces in between them.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.