Poets logo

No. 8 Fool's Errand

A poem by me, from years past

By Alan JohnPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
The happy fool

Despite my self affiliation with the circus clown

I've never been a good juggler so I think I'll pass

Cause too many things just has the ring of difficulty

You say that I could do it

I would say that you don't know me

I'll reach but never for the stars

Chasing dreams it really seems too hard

I'd rather sit here thinking hypothetically

Don't answer these questions

I'm waxing rhetorically

A broken mirror and an old balloon

They cry for my attention but I've been marooned

Shipwrecked in a sea of lonely isolation

My teeming social club is full of the same devastation

Prophetic

Poetic

Pathetic

I get it

All that I could be

Outbalanced by my insecurities

Or maybe it's just complacency

I look in the mirror and what do I see?

A man that I'm not proud to be

Where's the happy fool I once called me?

I'll reach but never for the stars

Chasing dreams it really seems too hard

I'd rather sit here thinking hypothetically

Don't answer these questions

I'm waxing rhetorically

art
1

About the Creator

Alan John

I'm a Virginia based writer/musician looking to find my place in this wild wild world.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.