Poets logo

Night

When night falls

By Erin O'NeilPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
Via Cottage Life

Some see night as empty and cold

I see only peace and light

Stories, myths all are told

Through stars burning so bright

The moon shifts, waxes and wanes

Quarter, half, full too

Changes, even stains

Harvest, blood, blue

Darkness, free from the glare of the sun

Cool, crisp air dances on my skin

I breathe it in, it has begun

My soul lifts, I start to spin

How I long to touch the stars

To fly so high I reach the moon

Even if the journey scars

The night will still end too soon

Humans sleep while nature wakes

Owls, raccoons, bats, animals of the night

Prowl around until dawn breaks

And the moon sinks out of sight

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

Erin O'Neil

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.