Poets logo

Night and Day

Poem

By Pam HansenPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like

You love the day, the sun and light

But I am, a child of the night

You see the beauty of the day, the sun, the flowers and all the light

Yet you cannot see the beauty of the night

I am not talking of the city lights and where buildings hold us tight to the ideal that this is life

I do refer to the day and night out in nature where all is right

A place where most have come to forget for we are a people of all this tech

We do not enjoy the simple things, the really beautiful things this world does give cause we are slaves to what man made

And even in the city lights I love and prefer the night

And this I tell so you may see the beauty that you miss not me

When I see a building of glass I see beyond what is made I see the sun rays shine on through and make beautiful patterns always new and in the night I see the moon reflect off the glass to

And when I see the sunset low over a farmhouse I see the beauty it does make and think how beautiful its does make this building built of stone and wood where once a beautiful forest stood

And then as the sun disappears and the darkness falls upon the land I see the beauty come out above the moon that shines in many shapes and seems to follow you wherever you go

This my friends is only one beautiful thing of the night whether in the woods or city lights

If only for a moment spent watch the moon as it rises and see the light and feel its might and find the innocence that we once had and lost as we grew and aged

And then just sit no matter where and listen to the night time air and you will hear some beautiful things like the owl that does sing

Go beyond what the world has said is how we should act and the shit in our heads, go back to when you were small and the world was wonderous and full of awe

Love the beauty in all you see

In the light and in the night for it is everywhere you just have to see

You will always have a favorite time and night time is it for me

For in the darkness no matter where is a silence and beauty that cant be beat for one like me

A child of the night you see

And just one day take a sec and go to the woods when the moon is full and just stare out and take it all in the sounds the scene and all that flows through the darkness and you will know why I prefer the night the hectic day is out of site

Find the beauty once again in the day and in night and get back that feeling we all once had and then maybe to you will be a child of the night

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

Pam Hansen

Single Mother of three who loves writing short stories and poetry. Love the great outdoors and photography and spending time with my friends and family. Just trying to survive.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.