Poets logo

New Tricks

By Steven Alexander Mailer

By Veris MarockPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
New Tricks
Photo by Scott Rodgerson on Unsplash

Do you recall the things we whispered

when the sun was flying high

when the days dragged on forever

and we stayed out after nine?

What’d you think those kids would say

if they could see us now?

Do you think they’d feel betrayed

like the friends we couldn’t be without?

And now all the days we counted

in the smiles burnt like skin

sunned bright red within the whiles

we spent not caring ‘bout our sins

are less vibrant in the moment

than the ache when they depart

leaving all the promises we’ve broken

with the ageing of our hearts.

Did you ever count the seconds

that we wasted of our time

spent in doubt and trepidation

losing semblance of our minds!?

Where did those moments vanish

Who cried these tears upon my sleeve

I’d give every adult privilege

To live one more day of make believe!

And now all the days we counted

in the smiles burnt like skin

sunned bright red within the whiles

we spent not caring ‘bout our sins

are less vibrant in the moment

than the ache when they depart

leaving all the promises we’ve broken

with the ageing of our hearts.

And now the dirt has settled

there’s a stone to lay my lies

our regrets are scribed in petals

laid on dirt alone to die!

I can’t stand to face this

your cold phantom fills my mind

with all the days we’ve gone and wasted

and the years we left behind!

I still visit the pond we liked where

you first held my hand

I still remember all the oaths we cried

before fate laughed at all our plans.

It’s winter now

the pond is frozen cold

the stories have grown bitter now

all the good ones have long been told.

I’m out of new words.

New tricks

New anything.

I don’t have the time for the world

and I guess that’s how it’s meant to be

and no matter how much,

I may insist

I don’t think the world has time for me.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Veris Marock

I've been a writer since I was a child. I had my first story published in 2019 in a short horror story collection and I've been working to expand my horizons since then. My primary interests are horror and fantasy.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.