Poets logo

New Beginnings

A poem

By Kristopher Michael CafaldoPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

Where does one begin

When the end is unseen

How does one live

When life is empty

Where does it stop

When is the line crossed

How can I be spry

When you have left me to die

Even when Hope has come into my life

I find myself unable to break away from your strife

In blissful ignorance, your battle is won

But mine has just begun

I see you in every cracked and broken piece

Bits of my life crying for release

I tried to show you the damage you had done

Only for you to laugh and to shun

No one out there can help me, I’m all alone

If it were not for one kindness shown

I should have cut you down when you left

I could have ripped your blackened heart from your chest

I would have taken everything like you’d done to me

Should have, could have, would have

I cannot let it be

New beginnings

Are not there for me

New beginnings

The end is unseen

New beginnings

A joyful beacon of hope

New beginnings

Tied down by invisible lawless rope

Ding dong, dong ding goes the timeless clock

The bells knell for my loss

This is it for me, no more gloss

It’s time for my message to get across

New beginnings

I’ll have my way

New beginnings

Day after day

New beginnings

I’ll never rest

New beginnings

When this one finally ends

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Kristopher Michael Cafaldo

A writer interested in all things human. From psychology to poetry, anything that makes you think hard and feel even harder.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.