Poets logo

New adventures

Away from home

By Erica JordanPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
New adventures
Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

New Adventures

Always home

Cars and cars go by.

Is it my chance to get up and fly away?

No but I plan to go soon.

I can’t wait to see this county.

The mountains; grand canyon, Louisiana , Nashville, Austin.

Everywhere.

As many places as I can see.

While I’m gone, leaving the cold here in Maine.

Maine will always remain my permanent residence, for now.

While I leave during the Winter.

Then I'll come home to this.

70 degrees and sunny with a nice cool breeze.

Followed by cool nights, then Halloween and Thanksgiving.

I will spend as many special holidays with my family as I can.

Then the road will be my family.

Away from here,

From me.

I hate me sometimes, I need to get away and learn to accept me as I am.

I want to chase what I love.

Find my purpose.

Fine empowerment.

I’ll get there.

I won’t forget my home though, Maine.

This is my home.

I’ always be here

Always.

I can have two homes.

Just like I’ve had two souls.

-ej

performance poetry
2

About the Creator

Erica Jordan

Tea is drug. I'm chronically ill. I cant do much except my art that helps my nerve pain and function. That's baking, painting , writing..... anything creative to use that outlet to express myself . Stay Wild Moon Child.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.