Poets logo

Never Had Me

A poem

By Willow Rakiah Creager Published 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Never Had Me
Photo by Rinck Content Studio on Unsplash

Day breaks again.

I glow from within,

Like a luminescent star

Replaces my heart.

Alone, but in peace.

Not taunted by shadows

Of a love that never will be,

And fate that's never had me.

.

When day breaks again,

I'll retreat further in,

Finding myself

Even closer to truth.

I was alone beside you,

Sacrificing my worth

For a love that never will be,

And a man who's never had me.

.

Light flows within

Like gold in my veins

Slicing straight through

This misguided hope,

Tearing callused hands

From a torch of steel,

With your hands gone,

They won't carry alone.

.

You learned to play

My aching heart strings,

The sweet, little sound

Of innocent bliss.

I must be paranoid.

How could I believe

That an innocent would harm me?

Do I think you'd really hurt me?

.

My relief

Seeded rage.

I had to hurt.

Had to FEEL.

To know what I lost.

How much you loved,

How much you had me,

And what I was missing.

.

In your heart was sickened

And bitter contempt.

Maybe right from the start!

I shudder at the thought.

You showed what I'm missing,

Now I'm basking in the light

As it's boundless like the sea,

Filling holes you carved in me.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Willow Rakiah Creager

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.