Poets logo

Never Forgotten

I hold you in my heart and in my soul

By Colleen Millsteed Published 2 years ago 1 min read
5
Image courtesy of Pixabay

You were ripped from this life

Torn unexpectedly from me,

Gone from this physical world

My life left with painful debris.

***

I feel I also lost a part of me

Now that you’re here no more,

A large part of my existence

Lies with a heart terribly sore.

***

But for the days that I survive

I will carry forth your dreams,

All your hopes, your wishes

Your love and joy by all means.

***

I will carry, buried in my heart

Your smile and your support,

Your wisdom, your honesty

Your laughter, your thoughts.

***

You will be buried in my soul

Along with my love for you,

And beside your love for me

Your wise words nestle too.

***

I have had to learn to live

Without hearing your voice,

Or seeing your smiling face

I didn’t really have a choice.

***

So here I sit patiently waiting

Knowing we will meet again,

That wondrous day will come

And take away all my pain.

***

We will shine in our next life

As we find what we once lost,

The memories will be ours

We’ll know what it all cost.

***

So until that wondrous day

I’ll live without you, no regret,

I’ll always love and remember

You’re too dear to ever forget.

****************************

If you liked my writing, please click on the small heart underneath, near my name. Or send me a tip and let me know you enjoyed it.

****

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Originally posted on Medium

sad poetry
5

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Test2 years ago

    Love this!

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Beautiful and melancholy!😊💖💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.