Poets logo

Neurodivergence

A poem on the spectrum

By Josey PickeringPublished about a year ago 1 min read
1
Neurodivergence
Photo by Slejven Djurakovic on Unsplash

Looking into my own eyes in the mirror,

I can see behind my corneas

into my wiring.

Processing my thoughts and emotions

onto floppy disks

in formats

no other mind can read.

Sorting and organizing my mind

into perfect sense,

yet to others,

just a jumbled mess.

I appear as if a mold of clay,

for them to manipulate and mold.

I am working on my temple from the inside,

painting frescoes on the surfaces of my brain.

When I find the breath to speak,

my words slip like Shakespearean prose,

in a modern world where my speech seems too unknown.

performance poetry
1

About the Creator

Josey Pickering

Autistic, non-binary, queer horror nerd with a lot to say.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Jackie Teepleabout a year ago

    Gorgeous! Beautiful visuals!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.