Poets logo

Neglected Path

A Walk Where No One Else Will Go

By E. McAuleyPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
"That Way" by E. McAuley

The grass is thick and long here, whispering against my footsteps as I follow the neglected path. There's been too much rain, and the earth is silty soft. Sticky mud cakes my shoes and may never come off.

I don’t mind. 

The wondering is enough to urge me on—the pattern of my soles skirting the edges of the flood, threading into the trees and around the dark, expanding pools. White moths flutter past. The flame crown of a Pileated Woodpecker darts from trunk to trunk, and the decaying bones of a frog wait patiently for the wild to take them home.

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

E. McAuley

Musings from a wandering mind.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.