Poets logo

Needed Me

Even healing hurts.

By Inaryia Riecka Published 3 years ago 2 min read
Like

I’m layin’ here in bed like

damn, when did this become my life?

Look up weak you’ll see my face,

you’re laughing now but could you

take my place?

‘Cause you can bet

there’s so much more behind,

the blue you call my lying eyes.

How was I supposed to know,

through the nights, pain & the smoke,

that you were always my way to go?

I’m so numb now, I can hardly breathe

no more tears now, don’t you see

I never believed you needed me.

Every day I say I’m done,

I haven’t even truly started yet

life’s gotta be fun.

Instead it’s struggles, work, bills, repeat

That can’t be it though, it just can’t

so help me beat the system,

watch the whole world eat.

I know you think it’s ‘bout what’s in the bank,

I promise mama it really ain’t.

But how was I supposed to know,

3 little girls,

sisters playin’ in the snow

They had to make their own way to go?

What made you numb? Could you still breathe?

Do you cry at night so no one sees?

Because I never believed

you needed me.

The whole worlds changed, but sometimes I think

it’s me that’s strange.

Head in the clouds, couple dollars in my pocket,

the day you gave Duke up

I made a key to my heart

and I locked it.

You’re always shakin’ your head,

like you ain’t raise me?

Guess it does take more

than material things,

how crazy.

I hope you know your worth

is never measured in numbers with me.

I only want my mom to see me,

for me.

I guess by now I should know,

our separate paths is the way we go.

I don’t wanna be numb, I gotta breathe

not gonna be numb, my son needs me.

You can suffer, pretend, work, repeat.

I choose healing,

to one day be free

& to make sure my son doesn’t one day wonder,

“Do she even need me?”

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.