Poets logo

Nareena and Arish Voyage:

Prose Poem in Collaboration with Zi Zoe

By Saroyan ColesPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Nareena and Arish Voyage:
Photo by Jeremy Bishop on Unsplash

Nareena

O wife, of the sea

O marine eyes

wax fingertips, fill my ears

Defenseless against her

brilliant cadence

charmer sea-witch

as pure as silver,

lacing her lecherous tongue

Scales smooth as crystal

Our souls perplexed;

into my shoulder blades,

Nareena’s claws

dig, dragging, downward

my sides, only complaints

of stubbornness

is seeing horizons inside

her eyes close...

DEAFENING as a siren calls,

She gave Arish

his own pair of angel wings...

Oh sea, frought with peril

time fought me,

I,

no longer,

know my course in life,

the wakes barrel, and plunge

Yet I feel completely land locked-

Sea-maiden as she,

generous with me as the sea...

Like a wave,

her loving arms

reach my shipwreck of a heart

Splintering my ego

makeshift raft braces the tides

Her euphonious voice,

bridges our disagreements,

let the shipwrights lover

loyalty moor in strides...

Our love predates,

the significance of time—

Tell me, Narenna

my beauty

with lips coral as a reef...

How deep is the sea mine of grief?

With stare as powerful as seas

raging and calm

I migrate in both...

Muses in a jealous rage

plucked bare her ivory wings,

Nareena did not fall into disrepair

Instead, gathered the down,

crowning herself,

in blood stained feathers,

gilded with pyrite

Wielding a trident...

I wish to go down

in history of love;

as the first shipbuilder

of the underworld

to drown in waves!

On the fireship of your love

Even if,

infested with shipworms

I, Arish

remain docked

I, Arish

drop my sails,

hooked by her magnificence-

mystified

suretyship

my marooned heart...

nature poetry
1

About the Creator

Saroyan Coles

I want to empower others with my writing. I have always dreamed of seeing my name, on something.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.