Poets logo

Narcissist

Coercive control

By Dee Dee Published 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
4
Narcissist
Photo by Sydney Sims on Unsplash

By Christopher Bill on Unsplash

Rolled up bits of tissue soaked in every single tear. Crumple pieces of my soul, why should I live in fear.

The words you shout out loud, crush deep inside of me. You took away my confidence and who I used to be.

You destroyed the woman that I was as you spit your vile words. Telling me I’m worthless and there’s no place for me on earth.

Twisting every line you spin to suit your own ego.

I’m watching on and taking it with nowhere else to go.

Hell seems a much brighter place if I take my life.

Death is a much more peaceful out, than being a mother and a wife.

Our children are the only thing that has kept me here, protecting them and shielding them, so they don’t live in fear.

But you smile and are cheerful with everyone one you know, treating others with respect and always putting on a show.

Everyone sees a man that I rarely ever see, so why do you hate me so? Why is it always me?

I’ve always been the loving wife, the one who cleans and mends. The one who gets you through covers up and just pretends.

I’m loyal to all you do and all you have to say. But I can not do this life, Not for one more day.

Tell my children that I’m sorry, but I wasn’t good enough for you, Maybe you could explain to them all you put me through.

Tell them, you thought I wasn’t good enough for life. Not good enough to parent or to be your wife.

Look after them and nurture them as you tuck them into bed. Tell them how you told me, It was better I was dead.

Tell them how you're better at everything I do.

I simply couldn't match up to the ego that is you.

By Sven Brandsma on Unsplash

If you or anyone you know needs help! Contact free phone 116 or 123 Samaritans are 24 hours.

Don’t sit in silence!

sad poetry
4

About the Creator

Dee Dee

A love of writing started at an early age. Writing is there through the good times & bad times. It’s my go to!

Culture, heritage, mental health, family & people, is where my writing takes me most.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.