Poets logo

Mycotoxicosis

Soul Search'N

By Dana ToliverPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1
created by Dana Toliver

Mycotoxicosis

I’ll never forget that day

sitting in my doctor’s office

when he told me the news

I was so confused

I’m knock, knock, knockin’

on heaven’s door

What for?

Myalgic Encephalomyelitis

Am I strong enough

to get through this?

Will I make it through

this rain with so much pain?

With no cure in sight

I must not give up the fight

Literally,

from the tips of your toes

to the top of your head

you feel like you’re

the walking dead

You wish you could be

put out of your misery

to be poisoned by

mycotoxins

is such a travesty

At times it lies dormant inside

until something comes along

and wakes it up again

to reek havoc in your body

causing your life to be disrupted

and turned upside down

sometimes lasting for several

months at a time

There are better days but

mostly you have bad days

and even those days where

you, literally, feel like

you’re dying, suffocating!

If I could just breathe

through this...

So many things left undone

if only I had the freedom

but for those who don’t

comprehend it, I put up a

front and grin and bear it

I’m humbled by the power,

will, strength and pure

stubbornness of this illness

the amount of pain and fatigue

of this disease is simply

unbearable and

incomprehensible!

What I have learned through

all of this is that there are

many who are twisted

and sick, I have been

woken up to the reality of

society that we are not all

human, we are not the Elite

race, some of us have fallen

from grace

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

Dana Toliver

I wrote my first poem in 1990 not relaizing it would be the beginning to my forthcoming book titled SOUL SEARCH'N; the story of my life journey told through peoms and short stories. The content I post here are from my book.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.