Poets logo

My Way Out

Cause it's not for nothing

By TylaPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
1

I wrote my way out of depression and suicidal tendencies

Found a place in me where I see possibilities

Built the strength to face each day en-fueling secret vacancies

Not noticed by the seeing eye

Yet tempting me each day to die

I wrote my way out from the inside,

I’m inside out

Insanely calm and calmly insane

Defying the wiring of my membrane

Who am I?

Is what you see more truer than what I see of myself

Is my vision unreliable compared to somebody else?

Cause my doubt is set in unrealistic expectations

My trust was dipped in fear, so life’s a constant hesitation

Passionate dreams filtered through jaded eyes

A coreless shell watching others pass by

I wrote my way out of stagnation and bitterness

Slept in the arms of the wronged

They wrapped my legs like the bless-ed

Stirred me with their motions

Yes, I thought I was awake

Forsaked the inner beauty I never knew I had

Till they came – when they left – they left a mark so bad

Stained for life in the eyes of my judgement

What was once my favorite art,

Now my least favorite subject.

Don’t touch me cause I wince and clam and hide my own pain

Don’t get too close – I fear that once you know the truth

You’ll never look at me the same.

I wrote my way out of my own abyss

Broadened the options on my list

Became more than what I could’ve wished

Learned to read the signs from those untrusted

Put faith in me, not those I’ve lusted

Engraved myself first on my priorities

Thankful now I didn’t end my story

I wrote my way out towards a happy ending

Blending my ups and downs into a beautiful painting

The lesson I’m guessing is to keep going strong

A part of the Universal Consciousness is where you belong

Keep writing, keep fighting

Keep living and loving

Keep moving forward each day

Cause it’s not for nothing.

I wrote my way out.

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Tyla

Spiritual. Nomadic. Lover. Warrior. Student and Teacher.

Just trying to create my place in this world.

If you enjoy my content, let me know. Click the heart and leave a tip. Thank You <3

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.