Poets logo

My Tongue is Blunt with such Beauty

I wrote this when I was looking out at a beautiful lake. I just couldn't write anything because it was just so pretty. However, my lack of inspiration became my inspiration.

By Stephanie ContarinoPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
My Tongue is Blunt with such Beauty
Photo by Drew Dizzy Graham on Unsplash

Oh how my tongue dies blunt,

My pen, frozen,

My brain, weak and barren.

For a picture perfect canvas lies in front of me, but yet

my mind bares no fruit to praise such an godlike masterpiece.

My wondering words would not satisfy my eye's vision for such perfection,

for my lack of such diction beholds my inspiration.

I am slain with such emptiness but resurrected by this living art.

Oh, how I desire to reverse time,

to season my youthful brain,

to allow the ancient Muses, the charmers of Mt. Olympus,

to sharpen my tongue that willed such words.

But atlas, beauty has blessed me with a perfect painting,

that my words

could not please it's rich pulses of splendour.

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

Stephanie Contarino

・⎯⎯⎯⎯⎯ ☁☽✧

Inspired by ancient greek poetry and poets, along with John Keats and Robert Frost.

Love writing about the beauty of nature, religion, Greek Gods and mythology.

My Neopoet account: Stephanie Contarino

・⎯⎯⎯⎯⎯ ☁☽✧

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.