Poets logo

My tears may be purple, but they aren't unique

A poem for my Dad

By Mary DriverPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
9
My tears may be purple, but they aren't unique

You ask me what makes me unique, can I give a little critique?

Unique is the way we look on the outside, but grief impacts us all -

Alzheimer's Awareness - Purple Ribbon

Dear Dad:

How can I write a poem, when my emotions are stirred

With the pain that I feel, and the words gone unheard

To the man that I loved, and who loved me first

Purple, the color that feels somewhat cursed

The color of a monthly awareness ribbon

Alzheimer's, a disease that can't be forgiven

Fears hidden -

Some people don't understand why

A color is instantly making me cry

You were too young, just sixty-eight

Only sixty years old with your diagnosed fate

Too late -

Oh, how I wish I could turn back the time

Hold your hand longer, and wish you goodnight

Spend less time being your hard-headed daughter

And show you how much you really had taught her:

Good work ethic, sports, values, and humor

Be honest, save money, and don't believe rumors

"Measure twice, cut once", use integrity

Life's not fair, and there's no guarantee

And, Dad...

You're on my mind all the day long

With every sign, with every song

When I look in the mirror, It's you staring back

And that's the best gift you've given, in fact:

So many memories, side-by-side

Today I'll wear purple, and wear it with pride

Dedicated to my amazing Dad - 1952-2020

Original Poem

Mary Driver

May, 2021

sad poetry
9

About the Creator

Mary Driver

Passionate, empathetic, quirky. I write and sing music inspired by surviving addiction. I love Bob Seger & Tupac. I appreciate authenticity & kindness. I am intense. My Dad died from Alzheimer's, and it changed my heart.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.