Poets logo

My Spanish

After Melissa Lozada-Oliva

By Juan Lli PedrazaPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
My Spanish
Photo by Ralph (Ravi) Kayden on Unsplash

When people ask me what my Spanish sounds like,

I stutter.

I bite my lips, 'cause sometimes

I don't know how to explain it.

My Spanish is not defined by just one thing.

My Spanish is "Siesta y cervecita"

and "empanadas y frescolita."

My Spanish is Madrileño

with a mix of Caraqueño

and a pinch of Maracucho;

I do not know where I got that from.

My Spanish is lawless and expressive.

My Spanish is smart and will adapt

depending on who I'm talking to.

My Spanish is sentimental.

It will change from one side to the other,

depending on which country I'm missing at the moment.

Jumping borders, ignoring tolls.

My Spanish doesn't owe explanations.

My Spanish shall lazily roll "R's."

My Spanish shall slip through "S's."

My Spanish shall step on toes while dancing.

My Spanish will not apologize for not being perfect,

and neither should yours.

/IG: juanspeaks

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Juan Lli Pedraza

Hi!

I'm a Venezuelan poet living in Florida. I am a poet for hire on the weekends which means I type poems for strangers on my typewriter about whatever topic they want. Hope you enjoy.

Check my work on IG: @juanspeaks

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.