Poets logo

My Reflection

A poem on self-love

By Heather HublerPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
20
Do you see what I see?

Blue eyes trip over a shallow imposter

Smiling on the tranquil sea,

Her depths a murky darkened pool,

Shamelessly mirroring me.

*

She is me, and I am she,

But I wish it were not so.

She is the very worst of me,

And I'd rather let her go.

*

We're caught adrift, pulled out to sea,

Drowning in an ocean of our design,

Where judgement, a heavy anchor makes,

To a sad fate we're resigned.

*

Deep in the depths, where silence falls,

The crashing waves above,

A weighing of our soul begins,

Righteous scales extend no love.

*

An impossible balance of life,

Virtues, choices, and dreams,

Of a morally bankrupt treasure chest–

Living beyond our means.

*

I find us wanting, always lacking.

What has she done to me?

Who is she to make me doubt my worth?

Why can I never break free?

*

There's no escaping our connection,

We're fatally intertwined.

Forever living like we're at odds,

Destined to be maligned.

*

And yet my fingers reach to touch her cheek,

A gentle ripple as our eyes collide,

The rings of motion pushing onward, outward,

Like the endless circle of tides.

*

The connection is oh so bittersweet,

This pushing and pulling dance done before;

Invariably forgetting our own true worth

Lies in our ability to merge once more.

*

Water pours from our eyes in rivulets,

Cleansed of spray and briny lies,

We must be the she and me,

No more blurry, shamed disguise.

*

For I am she, and she is me,

And together we are whole.

____________________________________________________

Thank you for reading! I love to write poetry, short fiction and blog-style posts, so please check out my other work. If you find something you like, consider subscribing to my profile so you don't miss a thing.

Also drop me a comment if you'd like to connect. Have the best day :)

inspirational
20

About the Creator

Heather Hubler

Reading/writing/science/family=life

Visit

fb * X * insta

OMG creators

Mike Dharr Cathy DanaS Babs Brin

Gina Tiff Grz KJ Thavien CH Kelli

Veronica BrentonF Paul Dean Holly Lamar

Caroline Melissa JS Donna Moe

Gerald DanaC JBaz Kristen Randy

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (20)

Sign in to comment
  • Stephanie J. Bradberryabout a year ago

    I guess we both have a thing for water in all its forms. I literally used "rivulet" in my recent challenge entry. So you were my soul sister even before I met you on Vocal+Assist...LOL

  • Manpreet Singh Bhinderabout a year ago

    This is amazing. Great one Heather 👍

  • Subhi Najarabout a year ago

    Beautifully written and very relatable. Many thanks or sharing it

  • Gideon 6ix2 years ago

    Great work- the battle within ourselves does feel like a never-ending dance where we hope to be in the lead position. Thank you for sharing!

  • Deep thoughts and lovely!

  • Daniel L. Bacon2 years ago

    Beautiful! Thank you for sharing. I wrote a similar (but shorter) poem 7 years ago with a more humorous tone. It's on vocal if you're interested. https://vocal.media/poets/the-death-of-the-love-of-my-life

  • Dawn Salois2 years ago

    Beautifully written, relatable poem. I believe self love only becomes possible when we learn to embrace the parts of ourselves that we see as negative, rather than trying to stomp them out.

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    Incredibly well written and very relatable. Love it

  • Sorry I had missed this absolute stunning beauty, I love it

  • I loved how you portrayed embracing the not so nice parts of us. Acceptance is better than fighting it. This was so beautifully written. I loved it!

  • Beautifully written Heather and a piece that I can fully relate too. The emotions shine through each stanza. Well done.

  • Mariann Carroll2 years ago

    Nicely written 🙂

  • Excellent work. Each line flows beautifully into the other. Great use of rhyme. You are a talented writer.

  • Luke Foster2 years ago

    Wonderful. Had me hooked from the first line.

  • Veronica 2 years ago

    Magically written! Felt like I was swaying in the ocean with you, pulled into your wholeness ❤️

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Wonderful words that are reflective, impressive, and inspirational!!!👏💖😊💕

  • J. S. Wade2 years ago

    Love the rhythm and the cadence but most of all the dueling, the depth, and resolution of your wonderful poem. 🥰.

  • Kat Thorne2 years ago

    That was beautiful!

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    this really says a lot. It's very powerful. Well done.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.