Poets logo

My Reason

A Love Story

By Jerica FloydPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like
My Reason
Photo by Kev Kombs on Unsplash

I love him so much that

My lips

Smack at the mere mention of him

That

His soul forces its’ way through the crevices of my brain

So, it can slip poetic sonnets of passion out my finger tips

I love him so much that

My lungs never have enough air to

Reveal all there is to love about him

He, keeps me enlightened so much that

Whenever he talks

I spell out our love in an unknown tongue

I-Am-In-Love with this man

And he knows

Because, every time my mouth opens

It is to speak his name

So that I can taste his aura dripping from my lips

He is King

That sit on throne of peasant worship

African spirits singing of revolution in his veins

Playing djembe drums on his heart

I love him because

He refuses to let me stand, as he sits

Offering me his throne

It grows every time he

Takes my brown sugar coated hand into his

When thunder storms interrupt our sunshine

And every time his fingers trace the outline of my curves

I sing melodic songs of his sensual IQ

And whenever he opens his mouth to express disagreement

I melt at the vocabulary of his verbs playing with nouns

Having intercourse inside well-structured sentences

And I eagerly forgive him

He colors me in such sensual tents

More than any other artist I’ve had

He knows how to use his brush

On the blank canvas that is me

Paints his desires in

Deep sex toned reds

Dark emotionally stroked blues

Ancestral slave ridden blacks

Sun scorched African sand browns

And bright intense yellow that keep me

Swinging in his rhythmic breeze

I am He

And he is…

He is…

Love,

Undiluted

Unedited

Prehistoric

He is…

The innocence of love

The first time it was ever spoken unto man love

The playground, black top lollipop love

He is…

Truth.

I love him because

He is my quiet on noise filled days

My man, mmmph

I-Am-In-Love

He…Is…My, Reason.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.