Poets logo

My Pain

a badge of unwanted honor

By A.N.TiptonPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
26
My Pain
Photo by Alice Alinari on Unsplash

You don't deserve to see my pain.

To you, I am nothing but stoic, untouchable and cold

as I survive the aftermath

of the brutal war you put me through.

💧

As the tears of pain silently scream from unseen ragged wounds,

born from tiny slices of bloody, emotional scars,

you will only see my mask of calm nonchalance.

For you don't deserve to see my pain.

💧

Alone in the darkness, I weep

scores of hot, salty rivers,

mourning who I will never be again.

For you don't deserve to see my pain.

💧

I grieve the loss of innocence and Disney-like dreams,

only to be born anew to another truth,

one that is part bitter and part cleansed.

For you don't deserve to see my pain.

💧

The fires of agony have remade me

into this new mold of a person. Someone

who is stronger, more resilient and compassionate.

For you don't deserve to see my pain.

💧

The pain belongs to me, and me alone

as a badge of unwanted honor and bravery

amidst the landscape of my shredded heart.

Because...

You don't deserve to see my pain.

Thank you for reading. If you like this article please heart me, share or check out my other work here.

sad poetry
26

About the Creator

A.N.Tipton

I am a Writer, a Lover of Books, a Mother & an Usui Reiki Master who loves to read & write & all things Universal. Words move me, inform me, inspire me.

https://linktr.ee/A.N.Tipton

© 2023 A. N. Tipton

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.