Poets logo

My Own Weather

The outside conditions cannot determine it.

By Anthi PsomiadouPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Photo by Daniel Lincoln on Unsplash

The sky turned gray at once,

the clouds covered the sunlight,

the earth became moody

as if she suddenly argued with another planet.

Within a minute

the raindrops multiplied,

giving birth to more and more of them,

as if overwhelmed by fear of their species’ extinction.

I stayed in front of the building

I had just come out of,

with myriad consecutive dialogues in my head

trying to manage

that autumn-flash within the summer.

I had the automatic reaction

of remaining under the shed,

with the passive attitude of

let’s stay here until the rain stops.

Suddenly, my inner knowing

shook me from head to toe,

and I heard my Self asking myself:

Can an outside condition really determine your inner one?

Or your inner axis can be stable no matter what?

I started moving and a man next to me asked me

“Have you got an umbrella or do you have a car parked near here”?

I heard my Self answering while walking away:

“I don’t have any of these. But I have my own weather”.

***

Anthi Psomiadou — CC BY-NC-ND 4.0 International : Credit must be given to the creator/ Only noncommercial uses of the work are permitted/ No derivatives

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Anthi Psomiadou

Writing, Life coaching, Criminology, and more. But I simply do these, I am not these. I just am. I am what I am, at any given moment.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.