Poets logo

My Nemesis; Insomnia

I’m Dreaming Of A Good Night Sleep

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
5
My Nemesis; Insomnia
Photo by Alexandra Gorn on Unsplash

I want to fall into bed, embraced like a child

To surrender like a lover, in love

My nemesis- insomnia, has captured the heart of my dreams

Stealing the blankets I desire, drifting into slumber that used to be mine

Left alone to lie, covered in restlessness

Dark circles, revealing me as a victim of sleeplessness.

wrestling once again with my eyes that refuse to close

What I would do to replace these daydreams for Dreamscapes found, while being held comfortably in goose down

Maybe my bed has outgrown my body

Sleeping -night after night, without me

While I wait, another day, for my friend -sleep to return

social commentary
5

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Brenton F2 years ago

    That was brilliant! Perfectly summed up what a lot of us go through - there is a healing in sharing - thank you!

  • Not being able to fall asleep is exhausting. This was an excellent poem on that!

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    Great poem. I feel it most nights.

  • Jonathan Townend2 years ago

    Great piece of mental health awareness poetry Kelli😊!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.