Poets logo

My Mistake

Sometimes we put effort into people that don't deserve us.

By Briana FelicianoPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

I called you today

Concerned for something you had said

You didn't answer

Thoughts ran wild inside my head

Had you finally realized

That life was too cruel?

That love can't fix everything?

I desperately wanted to ease your pain

But instead you made me feel

like I was going insane

You answered the phone

You screamed it was a joke

that I take everything too serious

but as someone who has wanted to die

I couldn't shake the feeling

So I stood silent on the phone

With a lump in my throat

Tears streaming down my face

I'm sorry that I called

That was my mistake.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Briana Feliciano

Hello everyone!

Thank you for accompanying me on this creative journey while I find myself. Your love is greatly appreciated.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.