Poets logo

My Journey

Breaking the cycle

By Rebecca K Published 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Photograph taken by Kristine Hammond

Mother is just a word written down in my journal

But here and now I share it with the world

This is the beginning of my journey, I was just a little girl

I craved her love I needed her to understand

Hers was not the only truth

I showed her my wounds , told her of my stolen youth

Still I was to blame she pushed me aside

She chose him and other men for years

Sitting alone, no one heard my pain or saw my tears

Still I felt brave and set a goal , Who needed her - mother was just a word

Content that I would forever be alone

Leaving that life behind searching for something exciting and unkown

Strength and resilience picked me up

Still in the back of my mind

I try to understand why

Someone called mother could not be kind

No matter the accomplishment , no matter the success

I could never get her love or praise

She hopes and prays that I will fail

And I know now she will never change her ways

She blames me for her life failings , and am I supposed to apologize

I feel her negativity reaching out for me, wanting to control me

I scream out "I refuse to be like her!"

Yet still I hear her voice telling me I will never be happy

But now that I am aware of this abusive family cycle

I need to stand tall and truly believe

That I am not what she says

Only then will self love be something I achieve

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Rebecca K

As a lover of arts and the the truth I enjoy writing. It allows me to express myself while sharing life lessons, precious moments and even the unspeakable moments. I encourage feedback on my posts so feel free to speak your mind. Thank you

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.