Poets logo

My house and Family survived a tornado.

it can happen to

By Jeremy WhitePublished about a year ago 1 min read
1
My house and Family survived a tornado.
Photo by Mick Haupt on Unsplash

My house after the tornado. This is still over my house.

You never think you will

Ever be in a tornado.

We have had ones that

Where close to us.

It always seemed like

We were in an area that

Was protected.

There have always been

Storms and tornadoes all

Around us, but it was never us.

That changed on January 12, 2023.

I was at work when I received

The tornado warning.

I shut down the Gas Station

And hid in the Bathroom

Until my boss told me

To come out.

Meanwhile my sister was in

Kroger when it got hit.

Now we come to the person

That was in the trailer when the

Tornado came by.

He was in an interior closet.

He was on the phone with

His mom. She said Kroger

Got hit then a few minutes later

One came by our trailer.

He was screaming and laughing

The whole time.

Everyone is O.K.

All the animals are fine.

The amount of damage and

Trees that are down is insane.

Every way home was blocked.

Trees and powerlines down

Everywhere.

Good Samaritans made my

Dirt road passable.

Then some more good people

Cleared our driveway so

We could get in it.

There are still a ton of big trees

Down in our yard.

It is now Sunday the 15th

And we still have no power.

Some of the roads near my house

Still are not passable.

The city part of my county

Took the most structural damage.

Hopefully most will be open soon.

There is one store they will

Have to rebuild.

My house survived so far.

As you can see in the picture

There is still a big limb

Over our house.

My little piece of country

Is not protected anymore.

It can happen to us.

I am glad my family is O.K

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Jeremy White

I am from a small town. I have grown up surrounded by woods. I love to Write. I started out with poems. I did not start writing stories until I joined vocal. Writing stories is really fun. I have a Bachelors in Psychology.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Happy to know that your family is okay!!! Outstanding inspirational poem and a poetic history of the tornado that hit the 12th of January!!! Prayers and blessings!💕💖😊

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.