Poets logo

My Hometown

The Only Place I Want To Be

By Paul DouglasPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
12
My Hometown
Photo by MARK HESSLING on Unsplash

I grew up amongst good friends

In a council house in our small town

My childhood idyllic, at least in my memory

No money to spare but good times had

***

The summers were warm, the laughter, contagious

My friends were happy, and forever around

We were so close, we were almost family

The bonds were so strong, in my hometown

***

Summers we spent cycling, down country roads

With the wind in our hair, and smiles on our faces

Laughing and giggling and teasing each other

Bare arms kissed by the suns gentle caress

***

As we grew older our fun continued

But as all kids do, we eventually grew apart

We gained girlfriends and boyfriends and new school friends

We were still friendly but no longer friends

***

Work and weddings and more money earned

We did better than those who came before 

I married Julie, my childhood sweetheart

And we enjoyed our lives in our hometown

***

We bought a house and had some kids

It's a great place to bring up our little girl and boy

But my childhood friends who moved away

Think less of us, because we stayed, in our hometown

***

But this is where we spent our formative years

Where we laughed our laughs and shed our tears

Where we played with friends we had known since birth

And after work, we drank our beers

***

I love my neighbours and I love my friends

My kids go to the same school I once had

We take them to the same parks we had played in as children

And they play in the treehouse that we once built

***

There is nothing more I wish in this life

Than for our kids to be as happy as we once were

Living, laughing and enjoying their lives

In this, their hometown.

love poems
12

About the Creator

Paul Douglas

I have always loved to write, especially poems and short stories. I also have an abiding love for technology and gaming. I love to share my outlook with others.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.