Poets logo

My Heroine

Her love is my drug, why would I tell her no?

By Apollo SQPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

I wake up paralyzed. Fear and hollow longing gnaw at my chest, settle in my stomach.

I think I’m going to throw up.

But I’m frozen.

I’ve heard addicts talk about withdrawal.

The shaking.

The crying.

The sweating.

The grip of just needing SOMETHING.

The desperation.

You made me desperate.

I’d consume you and expel you.

I’d stick your sharp words in my veins to feel alive.

I’d breathe you in, waiting for that high.

You made me desperate.

I love you became a hit.

Pain became affirmation that maybe in the thick soup of confusion and loneliness

You still wanted me.

Or at least something I could give.

You let me escape.

Making you love me, want me, took so much energy that I simply couldn’t think of anything else.

Letting you have me again and again while I went numb was the easiest way to keep you sane.

How can I say I’m a victim if I keep running back to that? How dare I pose bravery and resilience when I’m just a coward that wanted to feel something.

I’m not a victim. I’m an addict and it’s getting harder everyday to keep myself sober.

I know that you are poison. That all you’ve given me is pain and scars and fear and chaos.

Why do I feel like I need that to breathe?

I loved you. As fucked up as it was.

You were my hero.

My heroine.

My heroin.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Apollo SQ

Documenting existence as a queer person through poetry. I aspire to publish my work some day and become a professional writer so that I can tell our stories. 🏳️‍🌈🏳️‍⚧️

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.