Poets logo

My Friend Tom

Every man's man - Every woman's friend

By Jan PortugalPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
5

TOM BRADBURY - EVERYONE’S FRIEND--MENTOR TO US ALL

From Tom’s Facebook photos

My friend Tom, I feel comfortable calling him my friend knowing he was everyone's friend. I'm struggling to say good bye.

Lately Tom’s presence has been all encompassing - he's ever present, whatever I'm doing, he's there, be it mopping up the last bit of egg with my toast or listening to my favorite songs - everything I do reminds me of him. The moments in a song start me crying over his physical absence while he's hovering in the ethers of my personal space. We might be crying together.

It would be embarrassing if it weren't so precious, I don't know how long the feeling will last, how long his shimmering presence will hang out with me - so yes, precious moments.

“I well remember the advice he gave me on my first fiction story about the God self narrative being rejected by Vocal for being too religious.

He suggested...”

So I did what he suggested and it turned out to be a wonderful story, or at least I thought so. It's HERE if you want to check it out. More over it inspired me to write a series. I am currently wrapping up chapter four.

And as I’m writing and questioning an iffy sentence, Tom’s omnipresent words ring in head. “Keep the details simple otherwise readers will get stuck and stop reading” So I dutifully reword my long run on sentence consciously hoping he never leaves.

“So thank you Tom. My Friend, my trusted mentor. Thank you for giving my voice the authority it was lacking. I'd say you were a Godsend but not sure it's appropriate since you've been sent back. Reposessed as if there were a greater need for your illuminating God-self elsewhere.”

I'm aglow with inspiration and I’d like to give the credit to him while he's entangled in my magic dream catcher. I know I can't keep him there forever maybe just long enough until his tenure allows me to finish my story. The one he helped give birth to. Am I being avaricious wanting to keep him?

Dear Tom, No matter how far you travel on your new adventure--part of you--will remain in the hearts of all the people who loved you. We can't quite let you go even though we know you'll never be farther away than our thoughts. Safe pilgrimage Dear Heart. We carry on in your name”

“Dreams are for traveling. Let's just hope I go to all the places I haven't seen.” ~ Tom

inspirational
5

About the Creator

Jan Portugal

I love the adventure writing takes me on. I enjoy the idea of sharing them with an audience. I hope you enjoy my visions too.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.