Poets logo

My Favourite Place To Write

A Challenge Accepted

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 3 years ago β€’ Updated 2 years ago β€’ 1 min read
5
Writing (on The Wall)

This is a challenge for a poem about my favourite place to write. I shall go for a standard sonnet in a rough iambic pentameter.

Music is "Writing's On The Wall" by OK Go

βœ’οΈπŸ–‹οΈπŸ–ŠοΈβœοΈβœ’οΈπŸ–‹οΈπŸ–ŠοΈβœοΈβœ’οΈπŸ–‹οΈπŸ–ŠοΈβœοΈβœ’οΈπŸ–‹οΈπŸ–ŠοΈβœοΈβœ’οΈπŸ–‹οΈπŸ–ŠοΈβœοΈβœ’οΈπŸ–‹οΈπŸ–ŠοΈβœοΈ

So where is my favourite place to write?

Somewhere with a blank page , a pen and quiet

To lay my tools and let my mind run riot

Sometimes in the day , Sometimes in the night

βœ’οΈ

I need a desk or a solid table

A window to look out on sun or moon

To let in the air, a breeze, and then soon

My mind can wander to find a fable

βœ’οΈ

My perfect writing place is on my own

With all that I need, a pen and paper

A room equipped and in my own sweet home

So I can become a story shaper

Telling tales that take the reader to Rome

Epic maker, Reality breaker

βœ’οΈπŸ–‹οΈπŸ–ŠοΈβœοΈβœ’οΈπŸ–‹οΈπŸ–ŠοΈβœοΈβœ’οΈπŸ–‹οΈπŸ–ŠοΈβœοΈβœ’οΈπŸ–‹οΈπŸ–ŠοΈβœοΈβœ’οΈπŸ–‹οΈπŸ–ŠοΈβœοΈβœ’οΈπŸ–‹οΈπŸ–ŠοΈβœοΈ

slam poetry
5

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎ β™«

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me Les β™₯ Gina β™₯ Heather β™₯ Caroline β™₯

Babs β™₯ ROCK β™₯ Dhar β™₯ Cathy β™₯ Judey β™₯

Daphsam β™₯ Misty β™₯ Melissa β™₯ Ma Coombs β™₯

Celia β™₯

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.