Poets logo

My Father's Hands

...

By Kavi WarrickPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
My Father's Hands
Photo by Mohammed Raihan on Unsplash

When I was young they held me

Kept me safe and warm

Wrapped me in my blankets

And protected me from harm

As I grew I reached for them

They kept me steady as I walked

Caught me when I fell

And at bedtime gently rocked

Bigger still I watched them

On Sunday mornings lifted high

They taught me to be strong

Encouraged me to try

They showed me how to hold a hammer

How to make coffee with cocoa and cream

They showed me long division

And that nothing is as tough as it seems

As I grew older I left them

But found I was never alone

They waited for my calls

Hugged me when I came home

They were there to move my furniture

Fix my water pump, test my brakes

Take me out on birthdays

For my favorite chocolate shakes

Older still I see their faults

I see the calluses and lines

And I see the legacy you have made

When I take your hands in mine

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Kavi Warrick

There's a moment where all the words try to come out all at once, and it's either beautifully chaotic or decidedly blank.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.