Poets logo

My Existence is Not Conditional

...

By Amanda LyonsPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
11
Photo by Geran de Klerk on Unsplash

I don't exist for you.

I don't exist for her, for him, or for them.

There isn't a biological clock ruling my life.

My existence isn't contingent on fulfilling societal standards.

By Sandy Millar on Unsplash

I wasn't created to fill a quota.

By Ye Jinghan on Unsplash

I wasn't created to perform, aid, or serve.

I didn't sign a contract at birth.

By Frank Alarcon on Unsplash

I don't owe the world.

I simply am.

I don’t owe my mother anything.

I don’t owe my father anything.

I am not them, although I am of them.

By NeONBRAND on Unsplash

There are no expectations I acknowledge or accept.

I am who I am, not the best version, but one.

I choose to give my time, money, and love.

I choose to give myself.

By Jamie Street on Unsplash

I don’t owe you anything.

Nobody owns me, not even your god.

I did not choose my birth, my circumstances, or even to be alive.

But,

I will choose how I live, which is not for anyone else, but for me.

I will choose my own path because I am the one that has to walk it.

By Patrick Fore on Unsplash

Not you.

inspirational
11

About the Creator

Amanda Lyons

Eclectic stream of consciousness and dark surrealism. What photography does for life I do for thought, emotions, and experiences. The genres can range from romance to horror but my favorite is suspense.

[email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.