Poets logo

My Depression is a _________

What's part of me is not all of me.

By Emily BrandtPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2

My Depression is an ocean. Seemingly endless. Tides forever pushing and pulling me. Dark creatures, unspeakably terrifying, wait below me. Watching.

My Depression is a hammock. Holding me in the air. Never truly free, and yet keeping me from hitting the ground. Until it snaps.

My Depression is a friend. It welcomes me back at the end of the day. It waits for me in my bed. Embracing me into the cold of the night.

My Depression is an enemy. It tells me lies and half truths. Cutting my soul with the knives of its tongue.

My Depression is fire. It burns and destroys. Covering the world in soot. The smoke fills my body until I can no longer see anything but gray.

My Depression is a house. Filled with endless rooms and hallways. Everything familiar yet haunting. It feels like it could be a home, but I'm never welcome.

My Depression is a Mountain. Rocks cut my feet. My destination never spotted above the clouds. My muscles ache and scream to sleep.

My Depression is a Painting. Endless mixtures of everything. Colors running together and turning gray and black and brown.

My Depression is the unfinished laundry. The dishes stacked on the table. The curtains drawn closed. The messy hair and sleepless nights. It is both everything and nothing.

sad poetry
2

About the Creator

Emily Brandt

I write a little bit of everything.

Part-Time Daydreamer. Full-time coffee drinker.

Follow along for stories about love and adventure that often take a dark twist.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.