Poets logo

My Dear, My Favorite You

A poem

By Jessica ConawayPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
6
Author's photo

My Dear, My Favorite You,

You, the one with wild hair and wild heart and a laugh like music.

Once upon a time, you cried for me in the dark.

Now you cry for the independence of adolescence.

With one tiny hand in mine and the other reaching, stretching, grasping at a little piece of the world that you can take for your very own.

And you'll put it in your treasure box, next to the long-forgotten collections of pretty rocks and shells and little-girl secrets.

Oh, my dear, my favorite You, the world is cruel.

But you don't see it yet. You see summer days and fluffy things and bedtime snuggles.

Oh, I wish I could keep you here forever.

So I grip your little hand as hard as I can

Pretending I am strong and hoping that if I wish hard enough, my love will turn to glue

And that glue will keep you safe with me just a little bit longer.

But I can't wish hard enough, and I can't keep you small, and I can't ignore the fire in your eyes and warmth of your heart.

Oh, my dear, my favorite You.

My wild, winter child. My lovely, loving little girl.

Someday the spark inside you will set the world ablaze.

All my love,

Your Favorite Me

love poems
6

About the Creator

Jessica Conaway

Full-time writer, mother, wife, and doughnut enthusiast.

Twitter: @MrsJessieCee

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Tiz Moore11 months ago

    I hope she gets to read this one day

  • Wise Verbalize12 months ago

    Same here!

  • Babs Iverson12 months ago

    Fantastic!!! Love this!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.