Poets logo

My Dad, My Hero

A farewell letter

By VJHDPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
8

Hi Dad, I wanted to tell you what we did today, I have wanted to talk to you all day.

Today we said farewell to you, we laid you to rest and sent you in the heavens with colours and love.

We all got together, all of your family and sat together to reminisce and coloured your casket with memories and words and drawings. The kids were all there, pen in hand being awesome.

I bought plush bunnies for the kids to keep and we had your guitar and your music and all your beautiful words and pictures to look at and listen to.

The morning was spent the way you would have wanted, the colours of your family I know brought you many joyful tears and eye rolls from where you were watching over us.

Your granddaughter got pretty upset towards the end when the space for drawing ran out and the truth set in.

Your grandson quietly drew all the love he has for you in his little corner and My oldest took care of Nanny.

The youngest was there, he drew pictures all over and he coloured in my drawing of a Tardis for me.

I had a hard time in the end, leaving you there and walking out was the second hardest thing I have ever had to do. My littlest brother was there, he took care of me.

We had lunch all together, I stuck close to your Love and ordered Caesar salad in memory of you.

You are my hero Dad, you were always there for me, there for everyone. I honestly don’t know how life will go on, but you taught us well and we will follow in your steps all the way through our days forward.

I love you Dad and will miss you more than words can say. Rest In Peace and tell your son up there, it’s his turn now to take care of you.

sad poetry
8

About the Creator

VJHD

The subsistence of our lives will live on in our words, forever encapsulating our feelings.

Words are the centre point of our existence. If we never write anything down, did we ever really exist at all?

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Arbab2 years ago

    Heart touching words. I can feel the pain behind saying farewell to dad. I also moss my dad.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.