Poets logo

My Crown

A poem

By Gal MuxPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
2
My Crown
Photo by Joshua Oyebanji on Unsplash

This is my crown and I will adorn it

Gloriously, proudly, boldly, majestically

This is my mane and I will grace it

Fiercely, powerfully, unfailingly

My beautiful black afro resting gracefully on my head

The only hair type that defies gravity

With its infinite, artful, glorious, sturdy curls

Lusty and full, soft and fuzzy

This is my crown and I will adorn it

Gloriously, proudly, boldly, majestically

This is my mane and I will grace it

Fiercely, powerfully, unfailingly

I will not allow them to tell me it is not beautiful

I will not allow them to make me alter it

I will not allow them to make me detest it

I will not hear them when they tell me to tame it

This is my crown and I will adorn it

Gloriously, proudly, boldly, majestically

This is my mane and I will grace it

Fiercely, powerfully, unfailingly

Sparkly diamonds on my head

Living carbon that carries the mark of my ancestors

Precious pearls, coveted cowries, solid gold

Breathtaking art piece that makes heads turn

This is my crown and I will adorn it

Gloriously, proudly, boldly, majestically

This is my mane and I will grace it

Fiercely, powerfully, unfailingly

Not even the strongest winds can sway it

They blow and blow and blow but leave it firm, solid, unfazed

I twist it, I braid it, I protect it, I comb it, I style it

All ways to enhance my crown, to polish it, and to make it pop

This is my crown and I will adorn it

Gloriously, proudly, boldly, majestically

This is my mane and I will grace it

Fiercely, powerfully, unfailingly

I am a lioness

Fierce, tender, magnificent, artsy, passionate, and glorious

Hear me roar, watch me strut

Watch me parade my mane, watch me fan out my diadem

This is my crown and I will adorn it

Gloriously, proudly, boldly, majestically

This is my mane and I will grace it

Fiercely, powerfully, unfailingly

Copyright ©️ Gal Mux 2021

art
2

About the Creator

Gal Mux

Lover of all things reading & writing, 🥭 &

🍍salsas, 🍓 & vanilla ice cream, MJ & Beyoncé.

Nothing you learn is ever wasted - Berry Gordy

So learn everything you can.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.