Poets logo

My Country poem

Dedicated to the forward thinkers of this great country

By Matthew PrimousPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
My Country poem
Photo by Stephen Walker on Unsplash

Above all other else will I place thee at my heart

Against all other else will I treasure to guide thee

Under thy guidance have life been bestowed upon me

My young and my youth have thou stood besides me

Waving thy hand before I knew thee and lowering thyself to stop me

Your broad stripes are enduring and your proud stars are everlasting

O country of my birth and right and potion

I will never forget thee in thy distress you chose careful hands to guide thee

Rich are your boundless energy and heroic is your fountain

Your skies are filled with the clouds of blue and the arising of red

Your passion fills my innermost being and gives life to our creed

O country of my loyalty I do love thee and shall never forget thy blessings

Where others have failed thou has found a way to uplift

Where others have lost thou has found a way to build

And where tears lie that fertile ground to endless joy

My honor comes from loving thee and my honor comes from knowing thee

From fulfilling thy earnest plead and hearing thy powerful call

My country I do love thee and shall always think of thee

Forever are yours and this loyalty shall not part with words alone

We shall be forever intertwined and the fruits of our labor shall live on

Words alone shall not be the end of us but forever always my country

My home my life and my duty are bound to thee

Let hopes come to this that my country become our country our homeland

Let it be bright let it shine with light and always shine in good times and bad times. Amen.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Matthew Primous

I am a Black Scholar, International Scholar, & Google Scholar, & 3-Time Eber & Wein Best Poet., Nominee for Poet of the Year, 2020 Black Author Matters Winner, 2 time Akademia Excellence Essayists,& 2022 Honorary Muckrack Journalist.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.