Poets logo

My Clear Window

Emotives collection

By Janelle barkerPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1
My Clear Window
Photo by Imansyah Muhamad Putera on Unsplash

The world outside my window

I view with one eye open

while laying on my pillow

Birds are chirping and singing their songs

perched upon their tree of choice

they know where they belong

I smell the coffee brewing in the kitchen

it triggers my senses

now I am driven

driven to start a new day

looking out of the window

alone with my thoughts

I feel happy and content

as I write this

document

I do not feel alone

I am blessed to rediscover myself

while others struggle to

find themselves

doing work, I have not had time for

I want to stay home

to achieve more

I sit and watch a storm roll in

rain, thunder and lightning

what better time to write

and do my rhyming

the thunder crashes, so loud it is

the wind is howling

I light the woodfire

so cosy, this is bliss

no human contact is hard for some

locked away, they feel glum

depression sets in, I see them struggle

I feel helpless, I know they're in trouble

what can I do, I cannot be there

I send flowers,

to show I care

to receive a message of gratitude

brings so much joy

to put a smile on another face

is what I enjoy

going to the shop

seeing people in masks

there all are wondering

how long this will last

hand sanitizing taken

to another level,

we should have already been washing

to be sterile

shops sold out of food and toiletries

in all different countries

people hitting the panic button

without listening to what is happening

these panicked people there is no rationing

back to my home in peace, I sit

living in absolute bliss

ringing loved ones, so they are not alone

talking on facetime

so your face is shown

there are many ways to make contact

phone a friend, write a message, write a letter

you can do all this while in your

cosy sweater

as the storm passes, the sun

come out, the clouds disperse

I see blue sky, we are

past the worst

the land warms up, in the late afternoon

sitting on the deck with a wine

oh, my life is divine

the animals come out to play

warming their bodies

in the sun's ray

sniffing the fresh smells

from after the storm

is what our animals do

it is their norm

becoming self-sufficient

growing my food

vegetables galore

out in my veggie patch floor

plant as seeds, watching them grow

from week to week,

sprouting leaves, with excitement

I do shriek

weeks go by leaves turn to food

pick them to eat, and some can be stewed

a hearty slow cook with your homegrown

veggies

keeps money in your pocket

saves your penny's

what I see outside my COVID window

is not that bad

as you have read

I am not in limbo

I am blessed to work

and fulfil my passion for

writing,

when you don't have a hobby

it can be frightening

left alone with your thoughts

can destroy a person

I know this to be

certain

in this time of solitude

lookout for those in despair

the homeless, the elderly

even strangers, don't forget

your neighbours

we all need to be team players

I look out my window

and see the ignorance of some

all the hard work we implement

becomes undone

what will it take for people to learn

sadly it is death

only then will they yearn

at that point, there is no return

appreciate time on your own

for the greater good

do the right thing

and you won't be misunderstood

soon we will be together again

like chooks in a pen

count your blessings

appreciate life

keep looking out your window

start a new life

become someone's hero

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Janelle barker

Author of emotives

Poetry is powerful

https://www.jellspoetrybooks.com

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/50608401

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.