Poets logo

My Angel

Two Poems in Comparison

By Sapphire RavenclawPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
'My Angel' when he was young (2000-2005)

I wrote 'My Angel' around 2003 for my eldest son. 18 years later, I wrote an updated version in honour of his 21st birthday.

My Angel

Bright blue eyes

And a perfect smile

Yes I love him

No denial

He's beautiful

He's so complete

So many strengths

You can't compete

'My Angel' (clockwise from top left): with me January 2021; nursery photo c. 2003; with an award from local drama group 2017; crawling on a shelf c. 2000; at my mum's (date uncertain, possibly 2005/2006); Isle of Wight holiday 2003 (I think)

He is my son

My only one

He's nearly three

Where has time gone?

He is my angel

My bundle of joy

I love him so much

My little boy.

2017: The Stephen Underwood Award for outstanding contribution to youth theatre. A local award that he finally achieved after having been nominated several years in a row.

My Angel at 21

Bright blue eyes

and a toothy smile

Yes I love him

No denial

He's beautiful, he's so complete

So many strengths

You can't compete

January 2021 - a little before he turned 21, and just before he left for his 3rd year of studying maths with education at Edge Hill University. My fledgling maths teacher.

He is my son

My first born one

He's 21

Where has time gone?

He is my angel, my bundle of joy

And he'll always be my little boy

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Sapphire Ravenclaw

I am, among other things, a freelance writer and mother. I enjoy writing poetry and articles. Currently, much of my spare time is spent working on a book about Paganism (one of many subjects which interests me).

More of me:

WordPress

My Poetry

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.