Poets logo

Mutual Misunderstanding

A personal poem about trust and communication in relationships

By Julian McHutchisonPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

You'll never really know what pain was within me

Just as I'll never really know what pain was within you

Is this as close as we will get to a mutual understanding

It was like we were flying around this mythical agreement but never really landing

Did I make you feel like it was so easy and I didn't care at all

Like the sorrow you felt inside was something that I really couldn't relate to or call

I felt the world, I felt so close to all and so far from the places I never thought I'd have to be again

Did you spite me, were you tired of understanding me and thought I needed some kind of mutual pain

Did you think everyone had to know my worst, and train me to hold it all inside what I know about you

My heart's still pumping blood but there's just things we can't undo

deep inside my heart hurts and may still longer feel blue

We won't be making the same silly mistakes anymore

Though I always knew what walking through the maze was for

Nothing is ever the same, though life is full of patterns - yet

There's no together again this time, I'm tired of letting myself forget

I'm not rushing into anything out of fear of loneliness, I'm not performing as something I'm not

I'm okay with being my true self even if it becomes the only thing I've got

The greatest minds can build so much from nothing, I owe it to myself to at least try

And I keep my head down and walk forth, reminding myself to stop looking at this life and asking, "why?"

There aren't any answers that will truly satisfy me

If you have your own, you're welcome to try me

But I was always an open book, bar the missing pages I couldn't find

Yet I never felt more than a mutual misunderstanding, since I was never truly allowed inside your distant mind.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Julian McHutchison

Write and write and write.

A variety of different topics and interests.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.